How to overcome a stall.

You wanna know the secret to getting over a stall? Especially those that are early in your journey? Come ‘ere.

A little closer.

A leeetle closer.

You wait. You just wait it out.

Really, folks. That’s all you can do.

I got advice from so many people and I appreciate it all. The one thing I kept hearing is to increase my calories, which I did. At the same time, though, I started hitting the gym 5 days a week. I just couldn’t increase calories enough to make up for what I was burning at the gym. 1000-1100 calories total per day minus a 90-105 minute workout equals not enough calories.

It’s a catch 22, really. Everyone, from friends to professionals, wants you exercising, getting your heart rate up for an extended period of time, toning and staying strong. You want to ward off the excess skin as much as possible. The problem is that we can’t eat enough to balance it all out. We can’t eat more and exercise more. At least not within the first few months post op.

So, in the end, you will lose weight. Some people have no stalls. Some have one at two weeks out (raises hand) that last FIVE weeks (waves said hand wildly while saying, “OOH! OOH OOH! ME!”) and that’s really discouraging. No matter how the fat girl in me felt, the skinny girl in me kept saying that I will overcome it. I will start losing weight again and I am doing everything right.

And that skinny girl was right. I can’t wait to actually meet her.

Published in: on May 26, 2010 at 11:21 AM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gamecaco4.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/how-to-overcome-a-stall/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

