My post op diet — NUT says do not restrict.

Most people listen to my diet or look at my food journal and say they don’t know how I do it. Others look and gasp, telling me to cut my carbs to no more than 20-30g per day for the best results. Still others said to eat only baked fish and chicken with no marinade, seasoning or olive oil to help with moisture. That last one makes zero sense to me, but whatever, right? To each their own?

Here’s the deal and I’m sure I’m in the minority with this — I eat mostly protein, some carbs, some fats and some sweets. My meals consist of about 2 ounces of chicken, steak or seafood. With that, I will also have a bite or two of veggies. If it’s there, I may also have a tiny bit of potato.

On any given day, my food journal adds up to 1000-1100 calories, 70-90g protein and around 60-75 total carbs. This has been the norm for about a week now. I do not deprive myself even though a lot of people say I should really restrict myself to get all I can out of my “honeymoon” period post-op. I didn’t have surgery to go on a diet, I did it to change my life. I’m not eating a pint of ice cream anymore. I’m eating 1/4c or less of sherbet/ice cream/gelato once in awhile (I’ve had it once so far…yesterday). I’m not eating a few fudge-sicles a day, I’m eating a couple NSA popsicles or fudge-sicles a day. Yes…a couple on most days.

The only things that I do stay away from now are white pastas and rice. I will eat a bite or two of potato, but if the pasta/rice isn’t whole grain, I don’t eat it.

Oh, and I am at the gym 5 days a week doing 45+ minutes of cardio and 30 minutes of sculpting/toning/weights.

What are your thoughts? Are you pre-op, post-op or just thinking of bariatric surgery? What surgery are you considering/having? How do you want to/did you treat your life/diet post op?

Published in: on May 26, 2010 at 11:06 AM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://gamecaco4.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/my-post-op-diet-nut-says-do-not-restrict/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

